Log in to access resources reserved for MDRT members.
提问和倾听
提问和倾听

11月 01 2023 / Round the Table Magazine

提问和倾听

在与客户交谈时,提对问题至关重要。

涵盖主题

无论您有多了解客户、多确信自己知道他们想要什么,都有可能出现意料之外的情况。因此,提对问题至关重要,这有助于您掌握所有必要信息,从而为他们提供最佳解决方案。

获得的信息终将成为输出的信息。各行各业的诸多高管都有个错误的观念,那就是他们只需坐在办公桌前就能判断出各种问题。理财顾问面临的现实情况是,我们必须直接通过客户了解准确的信息,因为每个人和每件事都是不一样的。

我所在的公司最近进行了一项客户调查,其中提了一个问题:“您为何购买人寿保险?”一位没有合理负债的受访退休医生表示,他的主要动机是资产保护。我可以给出 20 个理由来解释为何他应该购买保险,但资产保护绝对不在其中。然而,这正是他关心的问题。这次调查让我更加认识到,询问客户他们最看重什么是个关键,因为您可能会得到出乎意料的答案。

另一位客户是大型私募股权基金的管理者,他曾对我说:“如果我父亲能为我着想,给我买一份人寿保险,那他去世后,我母亲、姐妹和我的生活就不会如此艰难。但他没有,而我绝不会让我的家人陷入同样的困境。”

这位客户很富有,即使没有保险,他的家人也能获得很好的保障,但他认为,为家人购买保险象征着他对家人的关心。往往通过提对问题,顾问才能发现诸如此类的优先事项和期望。

关键问题

我向客户提出的一个关键问题是:“关于您的健康或可能影响您生命的事项,有哪些事情是我们需要知道的?”他们的回答可能会带出您不知道的健康问题,尤其是在客户看起来非常健康的情况下。我们还可能会了解到,客户是否在早年遭遇过健康危机,或者是否曾经遭遇过严重的事故,从而深深地影响了他们的想法。诸如此类的因素可能会影响客户的决策,因此了解这些因素非常重要。

我还会询问客户,有谁需要依靠他们生活。除了核心家庭成员外,可能还有朋友或姻亲成员需要他们提供经济支持。我最近会见了一位客户,他的信托受益人大约 20 位。想帮助这么多人是件好事,但重要的是我们要知道这件事,这样才能解决赠与税的问题。如果我没有额外询问客户这个问题,可能就无法确保以最节税的方式处理所有事情。

此外,在准备结束对话时,我经常会问:“我有漏掉什么问题吗?”这类全方位的问题有助于揭露一些可能错过的细节。

最后,我总会问客户:“您希望这个过程需要多长时间?”这样我就能对客户进行管理,以达到他们所期望的结果,并确保项目按部就班地进行。

信息的重要性

我会告诉客户,虽然这些对话不一定有趣,但对于有责任和资源的成年人来说,这些对话是必要的。如果我们不讨论这些,那么政府就可以随意取代他们的判断,结果很可能违背客户意愿。从每个公民出生之日起,政府就会对公民及其钱财实施计划。如果没有制定新计划,那就得以政府计划为准。

此外,顾问往往因为没有从客户那里获得足够的信息,而为客户做出错误的决定。例如,假设一位 85 岁的客户预期寿命较短,似乎是合乎逻辑的。然而,与一位 65 岁、有严重健康问题的客户相比,前者还能再活 10 年。

这些都是需要了解的重要细节,反映着客户的真实情况。因此,如果有人不愿回答与健康有关的问题,顾问就应考虑是否继续合作。您可以说:“如果您觉得不方便向我提供这些信息,那我建议您另觅合适的人。如果不充分了解情况,我根本无法为您提供优质的服务,而您值得享受最好的服务。”

让客户主导

我发现,让客户主导对话,是获取所需见解的有效方法。人们都喜欢谈论自己。当我带着一系列问题去见客户,并让客户详细回答问题时,他们可能会觉得我们之间的谈话很愉快,而我也能收集到相关信息。

很多专业人士觉得有必要证明自己来会面的原因,所以会侃侃而谈。但其实我们要意识到,客户来会面的原因早已定好,所以重点应该放在客户及其需求上,这一点非常重要。

每次会客时,我的工作就是认真倾听,并将客户的期望付诸行动,即使我不一定同意他们想要做的一切。在这种情况下,也许我会说:“如果我是您,我可能会选择另一种方式,但这并不意味着我是对的。”

清晰的沟通

我有位朋友是知名职业高尔夫教练,他与我分享了其教学方法中耐人寻味的一方面:他只会对他指导的高尔夫球手说 10 件事,但他会用 10 种不同的表达方式来说,因为每个人的学习方式都不一样。

同样,顾问应该用多种方式表达同一件事,确保与客户有效沟通。有些人更习惯通过图表来掌握概念,而有些人则更喜欢数字、图片或故事。

不管是哪种情况,如果专业人士在对话期间没有提对问题,就很可能会错过重要的细节,这不仅关乎钱本身,还关乎这些资金对每个客户的意义。此外,我们还应为提供最佳解决方案而自豪。

那些人因为太忙或没有时间准备,而没有提对问题,但我认为这些理由都不够充分。我们需要投入时间。如果您自认无法为客户腾出时间,那么至少要确保公司的同事能做到这件事。因为花时间提出这些问题并获得重要的见解,对客户来说可能比您能提供多少年的经验更有价值。

Howard Sharfman 来自美国 Illinois(伊利诺伊州)Chicago(芝加哥),百万圆桌会龄 28 年。联系方式:howard.sharfman@nfp.com

Log in to access resources reserved for MDRT members.
  • Learn
  • >
  • Asking and listening
Asking and listening
Asking and listening

Nov 01 2023 / Round the Table Magazine

Asking and listening

Asking the right questions is critical during conversations with clients.

Topics Covered

Regardless of how well you know your clients or believe you understand what they want, they may still surprise you. That’s why asking the right questions is critical to ensuring that you have all the information required to provide them with the best solutions.

Ultimately, information in equals information out. Many senior executives in various industries erroneously believe they can diagnose any problem from sitting at their desk alone. The reality for financial advisors is that we must obtain accurate information directly from the client because every person and every set of facts are unique.

My firm recently conducted a client survey that included the question, “Why did you buy life insurance?” One respondent, a retired doctor with no reasonable liabilities, stated that his key motivation was asset protection. I could have given you 20 reasons why I thought he should own a policy, and asset protection wouldn’t have been on the list. Yet that was his hot-button issue. The survey reinforced to me how crucial it is to ask clients what is most important to them since those answers can be quite unexpected. 

Another client who ran a large private equity fund once said to me, “If my father had cared enough to get life insurance, life wouldn’t have been so hard for my mother, sisters and me after he passed away. But he didn’t, and I would never leave my family in that situation.”

Although this client is wealthy enough that his family will be well provided for even without insurance, he feels that having a policy serves as an important symbol of how much he cares. Priorities and wishes such as these are often only discovered by asking the right questions.

Key questions 

One key question that I ask clients is, “What should we know about your health or anything that might affect your mortality?” The responses could reveal health issues you’d never know about otherwise, particularly if the client appears perfectly healthy. One might also learn if a client had a health scare earlier in life or was once involved in a terrible accident that has strongly influenced their perspective. Factors like these can potentially drive client decision-making and are very important to understand.

I also make sure to ask clients about who is counting on them in life. Beyond the nuclear family, there might be friends or in-laws who rely on them for financial support. I met with one client recently who had about 20 people listed as beneficiaries of their trust. Wanting to help that many people is great, but it was important for us to know about it so that we could address the gift-tax ramifications. If I didn’t ask the client specifically about this topic, I might not have been able to ensure everything was handled in the most tax-efficient way.

Additionally, toward the end of client conversations, I’ll often say, “What didn’t I ask that I should have?” This type of catch-all question can help reveal details that might otherwise slip through the cracks.

Finally, I always ask the client, “How long would you like this process to take?” This will allow me to manage the client to their desired outcome and keep the project on track.

Importance of information 

I tell clients that while these conversations may not always be fun, they are necessary for adults with responsibilities and resources. If we don’t have these discussions, then the government is free to substitute its judgment — and most likely not in the manner a client would prefer. The government implemented its own plan for every citizen and their money the day they were born. If a new plan isn’t created, the government’s plan prevails. 

In addition, advisors too often make bad decisions for clients simply because they haven’t obtained enough information from them. For example, it might seem logical to assume that an 85-year-old client will have a short life expectancy. However, compared to a 65-year-old client with significant health issues, that person could live another 10 years.

These are all important details to know to properly represent clients. Therefore, if someone would rather not answer health-related questions, an advisor needs to decide whether to continue working with them. It’s OK to say, “If you don’t feel comfortable providing me with this information, then I advise you to find someone you are comfortable with. I simply cannot do the best job for you without being fully informed, and you deserve me at my best.”

Letting clients lead

I find that letting clients take the lead during conversations is an effective way to acquire needed insight. People enjoy talking about themselves. When I come to a meeting with a list of questions and then allow the client to respond to them at length, they’ll probably feel like we’re having a great conversation, and I’ll be able to gather relevant information. 

I think too many professionals feel a need to justify why they’re sitting at the table, so they talk too much. It’s important to recognize that the client has already decided the merit of why they are there, so the focus should really be on the client and their needs.

When I’m meeting with clients, my job is to listen and put their wishes into action, even if I don’t necessarily agree with everything they want to do. In those cases, maybe I’ll say, “I might do it a different way if I was in your position, but that doesn’t mean I’m right.”

Clear communication 

I have a friend who is a famous professional golf instructor, and he shared with me an intriguing aspect of his teaching approach: There are only about 10 different things that he’ll say to the golfers he instructs, but he has 10 different ways of saying each of them because people learn differently. 

Similarly, advisors should be able to say the same thing in multiple ways to ensure that we successfully communicate with our clients. Some people might grasp concepts better with graphs, while others prefer numbers, pictures or stories. 

Whichever is the case, professionals who aren’t asking the right questions during these conversations will likely miss out on significant details — not only about the money itself but what that money means to each client. Furthermore, we should pride ourselves on providing the best solutions. 

For anyone who isn’t asking the right questions because they’re too busy or don’t have the time to prepare, I don’t believe those reasons are good enough. We need to dedicate the time. If you don’t feel you personally can spare it for a client, then at least ensure an associate at your company does so for you. Because the time it takes to ask those questions and gain important insight could turn out to be far more valuable to a client than how many decades of experience you can offer. 

Howard Sharfman is a 28-year MDRT member from Chicago, Illinois, USA. Contact him at howard.sharfman@nfp.com.