Log in to access resources reserved for MDRT members.
空中經驗之談
空中經驗之談

十一月 01 2023 / Round the Table Magazine

空中經驗之談

Chua Yi-shyan 透過當空中服務員的經驗,學會圓滑地與客戶相處。

涵蓋主題

Naomi Chua Yi-shyan,ChFC 還在蹣跚學步時,她便覺得與媽媽和兩個弟弟分享一份白飯是件有趣的事。這名來自新加坡、百萬圓桌會齡 10 年的會員並未意識到,這種分享是源於她家裡只有一個人賺錢養家,沒有制定未來的理財規劃,因而無法承擔更多費用所致。

如今 Chua 致力協助 500 名快 30 歲、快 40 歲和快 50 歲的白領專業人士處理保險事宜,在他們的黃金工作年限為自己建立保障,並幫助他們順利退休。對她來說,這段回憶開啟了她幫助他人實現財務穩定的漫長旅程。

她的原生家庭起初經濟拮據,這意味著協助 Chua 必須等待。為了供弟弟讀大學,她父母花光了退休儲蓄,還將家裡房子賣掉。但家裡已經沒有足夠的資金供 Chua 繼續攻讀心理學碩士課程,因此她被迫申請提前畢業。由於 Chua 需要立即開始賺錢,於是她來到一間航空公司,成為了一名空中服務員。

空中經驗之談

任職空中服務員的這些年,她學到了很多在各種艱難條件下提供優質服務的經驗。她表示,這些經驗同樣適用於在地面上幫助客戶的顧問。Chua 回憶道,乘客在倒時差或肚餓時會控制不住脾氣,因此如果他們吃不到自己所選的飛機餐,就會變得非常沮喪。

「不要將他們的氣話放在心上,而是要感同身受,真誠地致歉,並嘗試提供另一種方案。真誠待人和主動幫助,通常會改變人們的態度和事情的態勢。」她如此說道。「同樣地,與客戶合作多年,有時難免會碰上客戶心情不好,或者我們出現疏忽的時候。關鍵是要用真誠和善意的話語來挽回局面。」

有了這種清晰的認知以及衷心助人的想法,Chua 在一個經驗豐富的團隊中也能脫穎而出。她沒有成為員工之間衝突與競爭的犧牲品,而是專注於自己能夠把控的事情:她始終關心乘客,真誠地與乘客交談,並努力做好自己的工作,確保航空公司始終能提供屢獲殊榮的服務。

除了記住多達 40 名乘客的姓名和要求外,Chua 還學會了在有人違反安全規定或做出其他有損旅途愉快的行為時,如何用禮貌而堅定的態度說服對方停止該類行為。

透過截然不同的方式,Chua 也從溫馨的飛行經驗中有所體會。她記得有一次,在飛往紐西蘭 Christchurch(基督城)的航班上,一名年長退休男子告訴機組人員,他正在環遊世界,不久後將前往南極,與研究人員、科學家和野生動物攝影師一起巡游南極。

「如果財務自由是這樣子,」Chua 回憶道:「那麼我也很想為之而努力工作。」

將技能應用到下一份工作上

由於她想更好地幫助自己、家人和其他人,因此她選擇成為一名顧問,而這一行恰恰需要她憑藉飛行經驗累積而來的耐心與真誠。因此,當一名退休客戶想聽從朋友的建議,將其有限資金中的一大部分投入波幅較大的產品,以期賺取更多收入來幫助其成年兒子時,Chua 意識到她必須讓對方明白其期望不切實際,而且他的收入很容易受潛在經濟衰退的影響。除了恭敬地表明她不認同客戶的計劃外,她還安排客戶與他的兒子們見面。

「他們很震驚並告訴父親,更希望父親將資金投入更安全的創收資產中,寧願父親少幫忙一點,也不希望讓父親的辛苦錢受到影響,而導致最終不得不反過來幫助退休後的父親。」身為一名成功的顧問,Chua 在經濟上幫助了自己的父母。「這不是一次輕鬆的對話,但我很高興自己能堅持信念,客戶的家人也對結果感到滿意。」

無論是透過鼓勵兩名顧問養成規律的生活習慣,從而協助他們取得百萬圓桌資格,還是協助客戶應對看似不可能的逆境,這種只關注可控事件、同時又積極面對艱巨環境的能力,在許多範疇都能發揮作用。正如獲轉介紹給 Chua 的一名大學生,她的母親患了癌症,家裡捉襟見肘,但她卻沒有為母親投保。Chua 運用客戶憑獎學金計劃獲得的津貼,幫助她在學生時代就開始投資和買保險。

「如今她已成為一名教師,前途無量,經濟獨立,婚姻也提上了日程。」Chua 說道。「我們著重透過制定理財規劃來幫自己擺脫困境。」

「錢不是萬能的,但錢可以解決很多問題。」

Audrey Heng 為 Team Lewis 撰稿;Team Lewis 是一間協助百萬圓桌開發亞太市場內容的傳播機構。聯絡方式:mdrteditorial@teamlewis.com

聯絡方式

Naomi Chua Yi-shyan naomichuays@rep.greateasternfa.sg

Log in to access resources reserved for MDRT members.
Flying lessons
Flying lessons

Nov 01 2023 / Round the Table Magazine

Flying lessons

Chua Yi-shyan applies airline cabin crew experience to being tactful with clients.

Topics Covered

When she was a toddler, Naomi Chua Yi-shyan, ChFC, thought sharing a packet of rice with her mom and two brothers was a fun activity. The 10-year MDRT member from Singapore didn’t realize the sharing happened because her family, a single-income household with no financial planning done for the future, couldn’t afford more.

For Chua, who now helps 500 white-collar professionals in their late 20s, 30s and 40s use insurance to protect themselves during their prime working years and foster a successful retirement, this memory was the beginning of a long journey toward helping others achieve financial stability.

Her own family’s financial struggles at first meant assisting Chua would have to wait. Her parents emptied their retirement savings and sold the family home to pay for her younger brother’s university education. But there still wasn’t enough funding for Chua to continue graduate studies in psychology, prompting her to file for early graduation. Needing to start earning money immediately, Chua began working for an airline, providing in-flight service. 

Air travel lessons

In the air, she learned a lot about maintaining satisfying service under challenging conditions, lessons she says can apply to advisors who only have to help clients while on solid ground. Chua recalls how grumpy passengers can be when they’re dealing with jet lag or they’re hungry, leading to them becoming surprisingly upset if they’re not able to get their choice of meal during the flight.

“Instead of taking the things they said personally, we empathize, be sincerely apologetic and try to offer alternatives. Sincerity and willingness to proactively reach out usually will turn people and the situation around,” she said. “Similarly, when you work with clients for years, it is inevitable that sometimes we catch someone on a bad day, or there was a service lapse on our side. The key is to recover with sincerity and kind words.”

That clearheaded perspective and attention to helping others is how Chua was able to stand out in a role that offered few opportunities to distinguish herself among a more experienced crew. Rather than falling victim to the conflict and competition she observed among the staff, she focused instead on what she could control: her interest in and conversations with the passengers, and her role in maintaining the airline’s award-winning service.

Beyond memorizing the names and orders of as many as 40 passengers, Chua also learned to be simultaneously firm, polite and persuasive if someone was violating safety regulations or doing anything else to take away from everyone having a pleasant flight.

In a much different way, Chua learned from the warmest in-flight experiences as well. She remembers a flight heading toward Christchurch, New Zealand, when an older, retired man told the crew he was traveling around the world, heading soon to the South Pole for an Antarctica cruise with researchers, scientists and wildlife photographers.

“If this is what financial freedom looks like,” Chua recalled thinking, “I want to work hard for it too.”

Applying skills to the next career

That desire to provide more for herself, her family and for others led to becoming an advisor, a role requiring the mix of patience and honesty she’d mastered mid-flight. So, when a retired client wanted to follow a friend’s advice and allocate a large percentage of his finite funds into a volatile market, in hopes of earning more to help his adult sons, Chua knew she had to help him recognize that his expectations were unrealistic and vulnerable to a potential recession. In addition to respectfully explaining that she disagreed with the client’s plan, she also set up a meeting between him and his sons.

“They were alarmed and told their father they prefer he put the funds into safer income-generating assets, and that they’d rather have less help than risk having to rescue their father in retirement because his funds were compromised,” said Chua, who has helped support her own parents financially thanks to her success as an advisor. “It was not an easy conversation to have, but I was glad I stuck to what I believed in, and my client’s family was happy with the outcome too.”

That ability to bring positivity to challenging circumstances while emphasizing only what can be controlled has helped in numerous areas, whether it’s mentoring two advisors to qualify for MDRT by motivating them to practice regular habits or helping clients facing seemingly impossible adversity. Like the undergraduate student referred to Chua whose uninsured mom had cancer while the family finances were stretched thin. Using the client’s allowance she received from a scholarship, Chua helped her start investing and insuring herself even while she was still a student.

“Fast forward to now, and she is financially independent, has a promising teaching career, and is planning for marriage,” Chua said. “We focused on bringing ourselves out of an undesirable situation by putting financial plans in place.

“Money is not everything, but it can help to solve a lot of problems.” 

Audrey Heng writes for Team Lewis, a communications agency assisting MDRT with content development for Asia-Pacific markets. Contact mdrteditorial@teamlewis.com.