Log in to access resources reserved for MDRT members.
简单对话
简单对话

11月 01 2023 / Round the Table Magazine

简单对话

清楚地阐释复杂的主题,并牢记客户的特点。

涵盖主题

作为理财顾问,了解大量有关理财规划和降低风险的信息,对客户大有裨益。然而,当您滔滔不绝地向准客户讲述您所能提供的一切时,可能会给人留下不那么好的印象。他们可能会给您一个困惑的眼神,告诉您“我得考虑一下”。不管您是否意识到,这场会面已宣告失败。原因如下。

“在与客户沟通时,尤其是那些对所有知识都满怀热忱的年轻顾问,他们往往会说个没完。”来自美国 Florida(佛罗里达州)Palm Beach Gardens(棕榈滩花园)、百万圆桌会龄 52 年、曾任 2000 年百万圆桌会长的 Brian H. Ashe,CLU 说,“他们想把自己所知道的一切都告诉准客户。”他表示,当人们还在摸索各种概念时,切忌向他们灌输信息。我们反而应该言简意赅,减少使用行业术语才对。

交流基石

好顾问与杰出顾问的区别并不在于精通专业术语或精美复杂的视觉效果。相反,后者的优势在于良好的沟通技巧和对客户发自内心的关心。

“在与客户交谈时,他们并不想知道我们有多聪明。他们只想得到简单明了的答案,以及想知道我们是否关心他们。”百万圆桌会龄 12 年的会员 Jeremy Mark Wellington,Dip PFS、Dip CII 表示。

良好的沟通和关怀也意味着客户有充分的存在感和获得充分倾听。来自英国 Truro(特鲁罗)的 Wellington 表示,良好的沟通有四个关键。

1. 有效倾听。“通过倾听达到理解,而非只为了回答问题,这样您就能从根本上解决客户的问题。这样您才能给出正确的答案。”Wellington 说。

2. 简明扼要地回答。

3. 对客户诚实透明。“不知道的事情就如实告知,并告诉客户您会去寻找答案。从长远来看,他们会感激您、尊重您,并成为您的忠实客户。再说,他们会看穿任何缺乏自信的行为。”Wellington 说。

4. 耐心以待。“他们开了很长时间的会,我们那天也开了好几次会。大家想要完成任务。但如果操之过急,就可能会失去客户的理解和忠诚。我们还可能给他们带来不好的服务体验。耐心一点。在会议结束时多花两分钟,冷静地做个总结,放松一下,给他们回应和消化的时间。这样您就会收获一位终身客户。”Wellington 说。

考虑不同的学习方式

大多数客户并不像您一样熟悉金融话题。他们需要您直截了当地提供专业知识,重点阐述产品或计划能为他们带来什么,而不是产品或计划如何运作等细枝末节。这就好比,客户只需要知道时间,而不是时钟的工作原理。人们学习和处理信息的方式也各不相同,因此在介绍信息时也要考虑到这一点。

“有些客户喜欢视觉的方式。”来自新加坡、百万圆桌会龄 14 年的会员 Chee Hong Gan,ChFC、CLU 表示,“在和这些客户打交道时,我们会提供更多视觉的内容和材料供他们查看。如果对方更偏向于倾听,我们就会淡化视觉内容,只进行对话。”

深思熟虑地运用类比

类比法是一种有效的沟通工具,可以帮助客户理解您正在与他们讨论的概念。不过,并非所有类比都适用于所有客户。客户的背景和参照体系各不相同,因此某些类比可能不太适合他们。例如,有关生长周期的类比可能会引起有农业背景的人的共鸣,但对其他人来说,以高尔夫球作类比,可能更容易理解。

同样重要的是,不要使用带有刻板印象的类比,如关于年龄、性别、宗教或种族的类比。这样做可能会冒犯准客户或客户。例如,有关烹饪或育儿的类比可能无法引起所有女性的共鸣,而有关家庭维修或跑车的类比也不一定能引起所有男性的共鸣。如果客户觉得您没有观察到和听到他们的想法,您可能会因此失去他们的信任,甚至失去这笔业务。

“使用客户熟悉的语言或沟通方式,能帮助我们更快地将复杂的概念传达给客户。”Gan 说。

简易图解

来自美国 Ohio(俄亥俄州)Toledo(托莱多)的已故百万圆桌会员 John F. Savage,CLU,是备受百万圆桌会员喜爱的代言人兼导师,他喜欢用简易的“圆圈”图解来阐释主题。

Ashe 分享道,Savage 会画一个圆圈,并解释说:“这些人会储蓄。”然后他会再画一个圆圈,说:“这些人则会先花钱,再把剩下的钱存起来。”然后他会说:“令人惊奇的是,这些先消费后储蓄的人,最终往往要为那些先储蓄后消费的人工作。这是因为如果先消费,那么您几乎存不到什么钱。”Ashe 说,在这两个圆圈的帮助下,Savage 在四五个月内就可以签下 200 到 300 份合同。这就是简单有效的方法。

“John Savage 是一位杰出的老师。”来自加拿大 British Columbia(不列颠哥伦比亚省)Vancouver(温哥华)、百万圆桌会龄 50 年、曾任 2008 年百万圆桌会长的 James E. Rogers,CLU、CFP 同意道,“我从他身上学到,您不可能靠夸夸其谈来打动客户。与潜在客户交谈时,要用他们的方式与之沟通。”

前往百万圆桌的 YouTube 频道 https://bit.ly/mdrtjohnsavage,观看《每月销售数百万元人寿保险》(Selling millions in life insurance a month),倾听 John Savage 在百万圆桌年会上的经典演讲。完整版演示文稿《整装待发,兄弟们,旅程即将开始》(Suit up, gang — You’re starting) 可前往百万圆桌商店购买:mdrt.org/suit-up

您可以在 mdrt.org上观看更多来自 Ashe、Gan、Rogers 和 Wellington 的视频。

联系方式

Brian Ashe bashe29843@aol.com
Chee Hong Gan vincentgan@thevinceproject.com
James Rogers jimrogers145@gmail.com
Jeremy Wellington jerry@fpconcepts.co.uk

Log in to access resources reserved for MDRT members.
Simple talk
Simple talk

Nov 01 2023 / Round the Table Magazine

Simple talk

Explain complex topics with clarity while keeping a client’s individuality in mind.

Topics Covered

As a financial advisor, knowing volumes of information about financial planning and risk mitigation is a benefit for clients. Yet, as you’re talking and talking about all you can do for them, you may not be impressing prospects as much as you think. Instead, they may give you a confused, glassy-eyed look and tell you, “I have to think about it.” Whether you realize it or not, that meeting didn’t go well. Here’s why.

“When communicating to clients, especially for younger advisors who are flush with all of this knowledge they’re excited about, there is often a tendency to dump their bucket,” said 52-year MDRT member and 2000 MDRT President Brian H. Ashe, CLU, of Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, USA. “They want to tell the prospect everything from point A to point Z.” You don’t want to dump information on people when they’re still trying to get their arms around concepts. Instead, focus on simplicity and less jargon, he said.

Communication cornerstones

What separates the good from the great advisors, however, isn’t a mastery of jargon or complicated visuals. Instead, the differentiator boils down to good communication skills and caring about clients.

“When we talk to clients, they don’t want to know how clever we are. They want simple, clear answers to their problems, and they want to know that we care about them,” said 12-year MDRT member Jeremy Mark Wellington, Dip PFS, Dip CII

Good communication and caring also mean clients feel fully seen and heard. There are four crucial parts to good communication, said Wellington, of Truro, England, UK. 

1. Listen well. “Unless you hear properly, which is intently listening to understand rather than listening to respond, you will not be able to get to the root of the client’s issues. You will not be able to answer them properly,” said Wellington.

2. Answer clearly and concisely.

3. Be honest and transparent with clients. “If you don’t know something, tell clients you don’t know, and you’ll find the answer. They will appreciate it in the long run, and you will gain their loyalty and respect. Besides, they will see through any lack of confidence,” said Wellington.

4. Practice patience. “They’ve sat through a long meeting; we’ve sat through several meetings that day. We want to finish. But if we rush now, we run the risk of losing their loyalty and understanding. We also risk giving them bad service. Be patient. Two extra minutes at the end of a meeting is all it takes to calmly summarize, relax and allow them the space to answer and to understand. Then you’ve got a loyal client for life,” Wellington said. 

Considering different learning styles

Most clients are not as familiar with financial topics as you. They need your expertise, but they also need straightforward information that focuses on what the product or plan will do for them, not the minutiae about how it works. It’s the same concept as wanting to know the time, not how the clock works. People also have different ways they learn and process information, so it’s important to also take that into consideration when presenting information.

“Some clients are very visual,” said 14-year MDRT member Chee Hong Gan, ChFC, CLU, of Singapore. “In working with these clients, we provide more visuals and more materials that they can look at. If you’re working with somebody who is more auditory, we tend to put away the visuals and just have a conversation.” 

Thoughtful uses of analogies

Analogies are a useful communication tool for helping clients understand the concepts you’re discussing with them. Not all analogies work for all clients though. Clients have different backgrounds and different frames of reference, therefore, certain analogies may not connect well with them. For example, analogies about growing cycles may resonate with someone with an agricultural background,but for others, golf analogies would spark a quicker understanding.

It’s also critical not to use analogies based on stereotypes, such as those regarding age, gender, religion or ethnicity. Doing so can offend prospects or clients. For example, analogies about cooking or children may not resonate with all women, and analogies about home repairs or sports cars may not connect with all men. If clients feel that you are not seeing and hearing them, you might lose their trust or their business as a result.

“Using a language or communication style that is familiar to clients increases our ability to communicate complex ideas much quicker to clients,” Gan said. 

Simple illustrations

A favorite advocate and teacher for many MDRT members about the idea of keeping communication simple was the late John F. Savage, CLU, an MDRT member from Toledo, Ohio, USA, who liked to explain topics by using one of the easiest illustrations to draw: circles. 

Ashe shared that Savage would draw a circle and explain, “Here are the people who save.” He would draw another circle and say, “Here are the people who spend and then save what is left over.” Then he’d say, “The amazing thing is that the people here who spend and then save always wind up working for the people who save and then spend. Because when you’re spending first, there’s almost never the possibility that anything goes to the bottom line.” With those two circles, Savage would sell 200 to 300 contracts in four or five months, Ashe said. That is effective simplicity. 

“John Savage was a superb teacher,” agreed 50-year MDRT member and 2008 MDRT President James E. Rogers, CLU, CFP, of Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. “I learned from him that you’re not going to impress clients with big words. When you’re talking to potential clients, you need to talk their language.” 

Watch “Selling millions in life insurance a month” on MDRT’s YouTube channel at https://bit.ly/mdrtjohnsavage for an excerpt from John Savage’s classic MDRT Annual Meeting presentation. “Suit up, gang — You’re starting” is the full presentation that’s available in the MDRT Store at mdrt.org/suit-up.

You can find more videos from Ashe, Gan, Rogers and Wellington on mdrt.org.