Log in to access resources reserved for MDRT members.
  • 學習
  • >
  • 關懷能孕育出源源不絕的轉介紹
關懷能孕育出源源不絕的轉介紹
關懷能孕育出源源不絕的轉介紹

十一月 01 2023 / Round the Table Magazine

關懷能孕育出源源不絕的轉介紹

Watanabe 透過培養影響力中心,為人壽保險業打開來之不易的千禧一代和 Z 世代市場。

涵蓋主題

對一眾顧問來說,在人脈可以轉化為客戶的圈子裡穿梭是挖掘客戶的主要策略,但有時候,某些場合和活動也能為我們送上驚喜,譬如欖球場。

Motoki Watanabe 是一名來自日本 Tokyo(東京)、百萬圓桌會齡 4 年的會員,他是欖球隊的後備隊員,曾在最後一刻入替上場。賽前,一名知名球員在球場上和他打了照面,這名球員脾氣暴躁,態度不太友善。Watanabe 進行了自我介紹,並提到自己是一名人生規劃師。「甚麼是人生規劃師?」他的新隊友直截了當地問。

Watanabe 回答指,他是一名保險代理人。這名欖球員讓 Watanabe 幫忙檢查他當時唯一的保單,即球隊贊助公司提供的團體保險計劃。但 Watanabe 沒有立即接受這項請求。相反,他邀請新隊友與家人一起觀看足球比賽。

「我希望人們瞭解我,喜歡我這個人,而不止是將我當成保險代理人。」Watanabe 如是說。「所以我通常不會一來就談生意。」

他們又見了幾次面,但都沒有談到生意,直至有一天,該名球員懇求他:「你甚麼時候能幫我看看我的保險?」Watanabe 終於接受了他的請求,並指出其保單中某些部分缺乏保障,某些部分則保障過多。當時 Watanabe 才入行兩年,在接下來幾個月裡,隊友向他推薦了多達 40 名準客戶,其中大部分是客戶的同事和其他視他為偶像的運動員。

找到影響力中心

「一般來說,優秀的人往往是一個團隊、團體或組織的中心。」他如是說。「他們很可能是啦啦隊長、足球隊長或合唱團指揮。如果這些有影響力的人認可您,他們就能幫您建立轉介紹圈子,情形就好比欖球員帶來的一連串轉介紹。」

儘管與上一代人相比,20 多歲的年輕人購買人壽保險的意欲較低,但 31 歲的 Watanabe 仍將同齡人視作自己的目標市場。那麼,兩次獲得內閣會員資格的 Watanabe 是如何成功孕育出難以打開的市場的呢?

「購買保險時,年輕人可能會因為生病或受傷而失去投保資格。」Watanabe 說道。「生病或受傷在所難免。因此我建議他們及早購買保險,以免為時已晚。」

人們都喜歡關愛別人的人,這種人往往會認識很多人,也就說明其可能會帶來源源不絕的轉介紹。因此,他會積極地與這些人建立個人連繫。但想獲得轉介紹,光靠簡單的策略還不夠,因為這些影響力中心 (COI) 在別人進入其圈子前可能會心生戒備。

「能夠吸引周圍的人,代表這個人也很關心周圍的人。他們亦會很關心自己的家人。」Watanabe 如是說。他很幸運能遇到合拍的人,這反過來表明他也是這些人的影響力中心,並且很重視他們之間的個人關係。

對 Watanabe 而言,現在培養年輕客戶就等於接通後續的準客戶渠道,因為客戶會有子女,他們很可能會更願意為家人投保或為自己購買更多保險,從而給家人提供保障。

「假設這些孩子長大成人、結婚生子,那麼先和年輕點的客戶打好關係只有好處而沒有壞處。」他如是說。

縝密規劃

積極的態度會讓年輕一代留下良好印象,而 Watanabe 亦憑藉其開朗性格而備受客戶歡迎,他們更願意接受他的建議。

「保險產品一旦開始生效,就無法透過簡單快捷的方法來證明其有效性。」Watanabe 說道。「因此在為客戶制定計劃之前,我會仔細地提出假設,並考慮所有可能發生的情況。重要的是要保持自信,在深思熟慮的基礎上與客戶分享積極的藍圖。」

有時候在與客戶的互動中,顧問會在會議上發揮主導作用,提出未經任何人評估過的解決方案。結果可能是這份計劃以顧問不確定的假設為基礎,或者客戶購買了不適合自己的計劃。

「在與人打交道的過程中,事情不一定總是盡如人意。提出與保險規劃相關的假設時,我不會追求完美。首先我會依循『計劃、執行、檢討、行動』這個流程辦事。」他說道。他指的是質素控制大師 W. Edwards Deming 所提倡的四步解決法,旨在締造持續不斷的意見回饋循環,以協助使用者制定並測試理論。「有了這個流程,我就更能為客戶提供合適的解決方案。這就是我的做法。」

Tetsuo Kageshima 為 Team Lewis 撰稿;Team Lewis 是一間協助百萬圓桌開發亞太市場內容的傳播機構。聯絡方式:mdrteditorial@teamlewis.com

聯絡方式

Motoki Watanabe motoki.watanabe@prudential.co.jp

Log in to access resources reserved for MDRT members.
  • Learn
  • >
  • Caring creates a referral circle
Caring creates a referral circle
Caring creates a referral circle

Nov 01 2023 / Round the Table Magazine

Caring creates a referral circle

Watanabe cultivates COIs to crack open tough millennial and Gen Z markets for life insurance.

Topics Covered

Moving among circles where contacts can turn into clients is a standard prospecting tactic for advisors, but occasionally the places and activities that yield new business, like a rugby field, can be a pleasant surprise.

Motoki Watanabe, a four-year MDRT member from Tokyo, Japan, was a last-minute replacement to fill a vacancy on a rugby team. When he arrived at the pitch before the match, he was met by a highly regarded player who also was gruff and somewhat unfriendly. Watanabe introduced himself and mentioned he is a life planner. “What is a life planner?” his new teammate bluntly asked.

Watanabe answered that he was an insurance agent. The rugby player asked Watanabe to check the only policy he had back then, which was a group insurance plan from the company that sponsored the team. But Watanabe did not immediately accept that request. Instead, he invited his new teammate to watch a soccer game with his family. 

“I want people to know me and like me as a person, not as an insurance agent,” said Watanabe. “That’s why I try to avoid jumping on business.” 

They met several more times without discussing business, until one day the player implored, “When are you going to review my insurance?” Watanabe finally accepted his request and pointed out the areas in his policy where he was lacking coverage and where he had too much. Watanabe had been an advisor for just two years then, and during the next few months, his teammate referred him to as many as 40 prospects, most of whom were the client’s colleagues and other athletes who admired him.

Identify the center of influence

“Brilliant people are almost always at the center of a team, a group or an organization,” he said. “They are most likely the head of a cheering squad, the captain of a soccer team or the chorus conductor. If these powerful influencers recognize you as a nice person, they can help create a circle of referrals, just as the rugby player set off a chain of referrals.” 

Watanabe, 31, has made people within his generation his target market even though 20-somethings are less willing to purchase life insurance compared with older generations. So how did the two-time Court of the Table qualifier succeed in cultivating a difficult market?

“When it comes to buying insurance, sickness or injury could disqualify even young people from being insurable,” Watanabe said. “No one can avoid getting sick or injured. So, I advise them to buy insurance while they have a chance before it is too late.” 

People are attracted to caring people, and those personalities tend to have many relationships that can potentially create a circle of referrals. Therefore, he actively engages in making personal connections with such people. However, the strategy to draw referrals is not so simple, as these centers of influence (COIs) can be protective about who they allow into their circle. 

“The person who attracts people around him or her also cares about them. They care about their family too,” Watanabe said, adding that he has been very lucky to meet the right people, which in turn suggests he is also a COI for these people and values a personal relationship with them. 

For Watanabe, cultivating younger clients now can lead to developing a pipeline of future prospects, as his clients will have children and likely will be more open about insuring them or getting more coverage for themselves to protect their family. 

“Assuming that those children grow up, get married and have their children, there is nothing but good in having younger clients,” he said.

Well-thought-out planning

A positive attitude makes for a good impression on the younger generation, and as Watanabe’s cheerful disposition is welcomed by his clients, they’re more open to accepting his advice. 

“There is no easy and quick way to prove the validity of insurance products once they are put in place,” Watanabe said. “That’s why I carefully formulate hypotheses and consider all the possibilities before planning for clients. It is important to keep a confident attitude and share a positive outlook with the clients based on well-thought-out hypotheses.” 

Sometimes in the advisor-client dynamic, the advisor takes the lead during the meeting and proposes a solution that is not evaluated by anyone. So, the outcome could be that the plan is based on a hypothesis the advisor is not sure of, or the client buys a plan that is not right for them. 

“When it comes to dealing with people, things don’t always go as expected. When I’m formulating a hypothesis for insurance planning, I don’t aim to be perfect. I first get my Plan Do Check Act process going,” he said, referring to a four-step problem-solving technique popularized by quality-control guru W. Edwards Deming with a continuous feedback loop that allows the user to formulate and test theories. “With this process, I can get closer to the proper solution for my clients. That’s the way I do it.” 

Tetsuo Kageshima writes for Team Lewis, a communications agency assisting MDRT with content development for Asia-Pacific markets. Contact mdrteditorial@teamlewis.com