Log in to access resources reserved for MDRT members.
让群体受益
让群体受益

11月 01 2023 / Round the Table Magazine

让群体受益

顶尖会员领导者 O'Connell 致力于让有需要的人士有机会获取专业服务。

涵盖主题

六年,四个孩子。回想起家庭迅速扩展给事业带来的紧迫感,Daniel O'Connell Sr.,MBA 不禁莞尔。“有一大家子人要养,没有什么比这更能激发卖力销售了。”他说。

然而,对于这位来自美国 Texas(德克萨斯州)Addison(艾迪生)、百万圆桌会龄 16 年、曾 13 次获得顶尖会员资格的现任顶尖会员全球理事会成员兼顾问委员会主席来说,他所经历的道路远不止家庭激励这么简单。2001 年,他开始涉足投资领域;2006 年,在一位家人的引导下,他开始关注员工福利。由于专心研究这些服务,O'Connell 得以实现宏伟的目标并以更有影响力的方式帮助他人。

“在我的成长过程中,家人总是要面对影响终身的健康问题,我亲眼目睹了家人与保险公司通话一小时却得到错误答案的情况,我甚至还记得他们被挂断电话的情景。”他说,“我知道肯定有一种更好的方式可以服务和帮助他人。”

为确保自己能达成这个目标,O'Connell 每天安排四次约见(分别在上午 9 点、11 点、下午 1 点和 3 点),每晚都空出时间陪伴家人,在此之后还能继续工作。“如果您让我两周后打电话,我十天后就会打。”他说,“我不会干等着,因为我想要加快销售周期。”

但重点依然是服务。许多人告诉 O'Connell,他为小公司提供的服务超出了行业标准,O'Connell 因而发现了商机。他希望展示给公司客户看,公司规模不应该决定其福利选项或所获建议的质量,他还说,许多公司甚至不知道自己没有得到应得的服务。

福利的好处

这意味着他要掌握目标市场的需求,并向他人传递他的热忱和知识。2009 年,更换保险代理公司时,O'Connell 发现了与其他顾问合作的良机,于是他便着手准备。他发起了晨间培训课程,向其他人传授通过提供员工福利来为公司和员工带来的价值,以及为何他们应该着手这一领域。很快,O'Connell 不仅有了良好的信誉,还与其他顾问建立起持久的关系,其中有几位负责退休规划、但不涉及福利业务的顾问希望与他合作。

“我和有些顾问已合作超过 14 年,他们现在仍是我的合作伙伴。”他说,“我们一直共同服务一个集团客户,该集团之前有 50 名员工,参与度并不高,但现在已有超过 500 名员工。除非我勇敢展现自己,愿意与其他相信我并懂得抓住机会的人分享收入和充分合作,否则我不会有这样的机会。”

如果我们想增加会员人数,就必须在每年除会议以外的时间里提供增值。
— Daniel O’Connell

说起展现自己的故事:七年前,O'Connell 在妻子和一位客户经理的帮助下自立门户。早在疫情之前,他就开始进行虚拟约见,主要是为了提高效率,帮助更多的人。如今,O'Connell 和他的 11 人团队与全美约 325 家企业合作,致力于帮助他们认为没有享受到良好服务的公司。团队成员都有为期 6 个月的职业和个人发展计划,这些计划有助于确定和跟踪目标与进度。

O'Connell 说,通过结合收费和佣金模式,他可以在降低成本的同时提供更好的产品,而许多大型全国连锁公司则选择避免与他所在市场的公司合作。他并不只关心价格,而是注重价值和客户体验。(O'Connell 刚刚与一位准客户通完电话,这位准客户目前的代理人让他自行管理福利)。O'Connell 的公司之所以能茁壮成长,自然少不了科技的加持。科技有助于展开福利管理、薪资同步等工作。此外,一家全国性人力资源公司也帮衬了一把,提供了资源、培训视频、员工手册和多渠道沟通。

通过制定比竞争对手早几个月开始的流程,他能够更好地就保单、续保和福利等事宜进行协商。他的团队已经意识到正在经历的变化,而他们的客户也取得了预期之外的成果。O'Connell 说,中小型公司的人员流动往往小于高管,这有助于发展长期关系,使他的团队能更好地为客户服务,带来始终如一的成果。

“我们不希望成为所有人的一切,但希望成为我们服务对象的一切。”O'Connell 说。

数据的魔力

作为顶尖会员全球理事会成员兼顾问委员会主席,O'Connell 希望有更多会员能够从由顶尖会员和内阁会员共同完成的年度基准调查中受益。通过升级版的经营管理委员会以及更多的讨论(包括在顶尖会员年会期间举行焦点会议),百万圆桌将努力实现该目标;该委员会的工作是通过调查数据为会员提供成果。

“我认为,许多顾问都没有合理利用这项调查,因为他们担心调查需要时间,或者缺少现成的信息,所以不敢轻易尝试。”O'Connell 说,“我自己已经完成了这个调查,现在我的首席财务官也准备做,您可以拆成几个模块,分开来做。无论您是安排记账员、运营人员还是其他员工来做,调查都可以成为一种相当有效的工具,帮助您向其他顶尖组织学习如何拓展业务。”

顶尖会员委员会的最新情况将继续推动小组发展,并对当前与会员相关的问题做出回应。在新的岗位上,O'Connell 还将继续辅助审核顶尖会员的战略章程,并实施在日本、韩国、台湾地区和中国香港提升顶尖会员价值的计划。

“如果我们想增加会员人数,就必须在每年除会议以外的时间里提供增值。”O'Connell 说,“放眼其他市场,就会发现我们已经凭借过去 10 年的经验绘制出美好的蓝图,帮助全球会员成长并打造顶尖会员这块金字招牌。”

显然,O'Connell 深谙如何让好想法带来蒸蒸日上的业务。他说,这种成长心态是获得顶尖会员资格的众多核心要素之一。

“关键就在于坚持不懈,立志有所作为,为自己的工作感到无比自豪,并抱着不断成长的心态。”他说,“不要盲目跟风。如果您的目标和其他人的一样,那您永远都不可能成为顶尖会员。”

联系方式

Daniel O’Connell doconnell@nextlevel.agency

Log in to access resources reserved for MDRT members.
  • Learn
  • >
  • Benefiting the group
Benefiting the group
Benefiting the group

Nov 01 2023 / Round the Table Magazine

Benefiting the group

Top of the Table leader O’Connell celebrates the opportunity to connect expertise to anyone seeking it.

Topics Covered

Four kids in six years. Thinking back to the professional urgency created by that sizable, rapid family expansion, Daniel O’Connell Sr., MBA, laughs. “There’s nothing like that to make you a highly motivated salesperson,” he said.

Yet the path that the 16-year MDRT member from Addison, Texas, USA, took to achieve 13 Top of the Table qualifications and now become the Top of the Table Global Council Member and Advisory Board Chair, involved a lot more than just household motivation. After starting in the investment world in 2001, a family member steered him toward focusing on employee benefits in 2006. Specializing on those services was where O’Connell was able to achieve ambitious goals and help people in more impactful ways.

“Growing up, I had family members who dealt with lifelong health issues, and I saw what it looked like to be on the phone with an insurance company for an hour just to get the wrong answer or worse, get hung up on,” he said. “I knew there was a better way to serve and help people.”

To ensure he could do that, O’Connell scheduled four appointments per day (at 9 a.m., 11 a.m., 1 p.m. and 3 p.m.), family time each night and the ability to work more afterward. “If you told me to call in two weeks, I’d call in 10 days,” he said. “I’m not going to wait; I’m going to speed up the sales cycle.”

But the emphasis remained on service. Told by many that what he was providing small companies exceeded industry norms, O’Connell saw an opportunity. He wanted to show companies — many of whom he says didn’t even know they were being underserved — that their size shouldn’t dictate their options for benefits or the quality of advice they receive.

The benefits of benefits

Part of that meant mastering the needs of his target market and spreading his passion and knowledge to others. When he changed broker-dealers in 2009, O’Connell saw a tremendous opportunity to collaborate with other advisors, so he went to work. He initiated morning training sessions to teach others the value they can bring to companies and employees through providing employee benefits and why they should work in that sector. Soon, O’Connell was not just building his own credibility but building enduring relationships with other advisors, several of whom handled retirement plans but not benefits and wanted to work with him.

“I have advisors I have worked with for over 14 years who I still partner with,” he said. “We had a group that we’ve maintained as a joint client, which had 50 employees with not-great participation that is now over 500 employees. I wouldn’t have had that opportunity unless I put myself out there and was willing to split revenue and work with others who believed in me and took a chance to work together.”

If we want to grow our membership, we need to provide added value throughout the year beyond the meeting.
— Daniel O’Connell

Speaking of putting himself out there: Seven years ago, O’Connell started his own practice with the help of his wife and an account manager. He was doing virtual appointments long before the pandemic to increase efficiency and the number of people he could help. Today, O’Connell and his 11-person team (all of whom have six-month professional and personal development plans to help define and track goals and growth) work with about 325 businesses across the U.S., helping companies they believed are underserved.

By utilizing a mix of fee-based and commission-based models, O’Connell says he can offer better products at a lower cost than many larger national operations who avoid working with companies in his market. It is also not all about the price, as he focuses on value and the client experience. (O’Connell just got off a call with a prospective client whose current agent leaves it up to them to self-manage their benefits.) O’Connell’s company also thrives thanks to technology — which helps with administering benefits, syncing up payroll and more — and help from a national HR firm that provides resources, training videos, employee handbooks and communication across multiple channels.

By developing a process that begins months before his competitors, he has the ability to better negotiate policies, renewals and benefits. His team has bought in to the difference they are making, and their clients often achieve outcomes they could not have imagined possible. Small- to-medium-sized companies often have less turnover than the C-suite, O’Connell says, which helps to develop long-term relationships and allows O’Connell’s team to better serve clients and deliver consistent outcomes.

“We don’t want to be everything to everybody but everything to the people who we serve,” O’Connell said.

Magic in the numbers

In his role as the Top of the Table Global Council Member and Advisory Board Chair, O’Connell wants to expand the number of members benefiting from the annual Benchmarking Survey (completed by Top of the Table and Court of the Table members). That will be done by additional discussion (including a Focus Session during the Top of the Table Annual Meeting) as well as a practice management committee that has been modified to translate the data from the survey into outcomes for members.

“I think many advisors have not utilized the survey fearing the time it will take, or not readily having the information; it can seem daunting,” O’Connell said. “After completing it on my own, I now have my CFO do it, and you can do it in modules to break it up. Whether you assign it to a bookkeeper, an operations person or anyone else, it can be a really effective way to learn from other Top of the Table practices about how to grow your business.”

Updates to the Top of the Table committees continue an initiative to make those groups more dynamic and responsive to what’s currently relevant to members. In his new role, O’Connell also will help review Top of the Table’s strategic charter and implement plans to grow Top of the Table value in Japan, Korea, Taiwan Area and Hong Kong, China.

“If we want to grow our membership, we need to provide added value throughout the year beyond the meeting,” O’Connell said. “As we look at other markets, we have a good blueprint from the last 10 years of how to develop and build Top of the Table across the globe for our members.”

Certainly, O’Connell knows how to take good ideas and turn them into a thriving operation. It’s a growth mindset that he says is one of many core elements of reaching Top of the Table.

“It’s about standing up and being committed to making a difference, taking immense pride in what you do and wanting to grow,” he said. “It’s not doing what everybody else does. You’re never going to be Top of the Table if your goal is to be like everyone else.”