Log in to access resources reserved for MDRT members.
  • 學習
  • >
  • 我的個人遺產規劃之路
我的個人遺產規劃之路
我的個人遺產規劃之路

九月 01 2023 / Round the Table Magazine

我的個人遺產規劃之路

收到糟糕的診斷結果後,顧問決定制定一份家庭延續和保障計劃。

涵蓋主題

我原以為自己有足夠的時間考慮業務連續性,但當我突然面臨一場可能危及生命的健康危機時,我才意識到自己在保護家人、避免業務混亂和中斷方面的準備確實不充分。

當時我去了本地一間緊急醫療中心,想找出幾天來胃痛的原因,我的醫療緊急狀況就是從那時開始的。令我沮喪的是,醫生說我應該立即去急症室做個電腦斷層掃描。幾個小時後,醫生解釋指,我的胃痛很可能是小腸壁增厚所造成;一開始讓我感到寬慰的是,這很可能只是一種病毒。我以為自己的健康狀況相對良好,但醫生接著又告訴了我一個令人不安的消息。除了病毒之外,醫生還在我的胃裡發現了一個組織塊。「我們認為這是一個胃腸道間質瘤 (GIST)。」醫生解釋道。「我會請外科醫生過來看看,您可能需要住院,然後我們再討論下一步怎麼做。」

當我躺在病床上等待醫生告訴我更多詳情時,我拿起手機上網搜尋了這種病。我看到的資訊並未為我帶來安慰。在美國,每年在 12 萬人中只有 1 人患上胃腸道間質瘤 (GIST),醫生也不知道其病因。他們所瞭解的是,這些腫瘤剛開始時很小,而且具局部性,但是會生長擴散,最終可能變成惡性腫瘤。化療或放療對這種類型的腫瘤沒有效果,因此如果腫瘤沒有擴散,手術便是唯一的治療辦法。大家都不想經歷這種事情。

當我考慮萬一我去世了,哪條路能為我的家庭創造最大價值時,我意識到自己需要審視是甚麼讓我的業務變得有價值,以及誰是最佳人選。

光立遺囑肯定不夠

我開始思考我為保護家人所做的一切。是的,我和妻子 Stacia 在疫情爆發前一年就更新了遺囑,並制定了許多保障措施,但我意識到,我從未認真考慮過企業的繼承或連續性計劃。如果我死於手術併發症、如果康復過程比預期中複雜,或者如果醫生發現腫瘤已經擴散,那會怎麼樣?

在我們家裡,我的企業由我遺囑中的授權條款來管理。這意味著 Stacia 將繼承並經營公司,但我們從未真正討論過她是否願意。她能做到嗎?

我很快發現這個辦法不可行,於是我根據《牽引》(Traction) 一書中的概念制定了一個治理模式。書中提到,成功的企業需要兩個人——一個是有遠見、有能力經營公司的「遠見者」,另一個是與遠見者協同工作、監管企業所有營運環節的「整合者」。

最終,我決定為家人找一名代理人,以防出現上述三種不希望出現的結果。我思考了一下代理人應該具備的質素。他們是否應該瞭解我的產品組合?他們是否應該具備更強的經營技能,與我的遠見技能相輔相成?最重要的是,我的妻子能否接受這名代理人?我在公司裡物色了三個人,確定了我認為最適合擔任代理人的人選,並與他取得聯繫,他同意在必要時擔任這個角色。

做好最壞打算

我意識到,如果手術不順利,我需要決定將企業賣給誰,最好賣給內部成員還是外部機構呢?當時我的團隊共有 11 人,核心領導團隊 3 人,其中一個是我的得力助手,已與我共事 27 年,另外兩人分別與我共事超過 20 年。我們的行事作風都是互補不足的,我想知道,如果我不給這個資深團隊收購並管理我公司的機會,是否會讓他們蒙羞。

考慮到萬一我不幸去世,哪條路能為我的家庭創造最大價值時,我意識到,需要審視是甚麼讓我的企業變得有價值,以及誰是最佳人選。在我的職業生涯中,我有幸銷售了成千上萬份個人保單,這些保單產生了源源不斷的被動收入,就像所管理資產 (AUM)。將公司賣給我的團隊,從一開始服務就不會中斷。但我也意識到,我的整個職業生涯都圍繞著向全國各地的醫療機構提供一種產品。最佳辦法是否讓競爭對手收購我的公司,因為他們已經擁有可以接納我公司的業務經驗、員工和系統呢?最後,我考慮了我們與無數個人和組織關係的價值。是提供更多產品和服務的公司能看到我公司個人保單的價值,還是專門從事團體和行政人員福利的公司會覺得我的機構關係有吸引力呢?

這些都是亟待解答的重要問題,而我打算從內部銷售著手。我問自己,為何我的得力助手與我配合得如此默契。答案是:我們相輔相成——我有遠見,他有定力。然後我問了自己一條任何人在尋找繼任者時都應該問的問題:您想找一個有遠見的人來推動企業發展,還是只想找一個人來維持公司現狀?是繼續經營,抑或出售並解散企業,答案因期望的結果而異。但我想知道,如果他成為公司領導,員工們會否接受我這個得力助手。我想起公司最近進行的一次練習,當時人力資源顧問向我們問道:「您在這間公司的角色能用甚麼詞語來形容呢?」我立即想到的是「動力」。我的得力助手的答案則是「冷靜」。公司能有一個管理者來確保我們的承諾得以兌現,業務流程得以順利進行,這一點非常寶貴。但是,這個繼任者能照顧好與我共事多年的員工嗎?我還得問一些棘手的問題,譬如他是否準備好監督這一切?如果未準備好,有誰能加入公司,這會對公司的穩定性和價值產生甚麼影響?另外,我的得力助手能否推動企業發展,他是否有財力收購我的公司?

當我試圖在動手術前的有限時間內解決這些問題時,我得出了結論:萬一我不幸去世,對我和家人來說的唯一可行辦法就是將公司出售給外部機構,這樣我的團隊將得到保護,他們也能從出售中獲得一定的經濟利益。我們不得不從公司外部尋找解決方案。但誰瞭解我的目標市場,誰又能繼續做下去呢?

做好準備迎接潛在銷售

與此同時,我還建立了第二個團隊,我稱之為解散團隊,如果我的公司需要出售,這個團隊就會立即行動起來,找人購買我的公司。我選了兩個人扛起諮詢職責,其中一個很瞭解我的市場和競爭對手,另一個則是態度強硬的談判能手。在必要的情況下,他們會將出價告訴我的代理人,再由代理人將出價告訴我的妻子。

首先我計算了公司的價值。為此,我與兩間公司簽了約,讓他們出價競投。接著我們與重要客戶和影響力中心溝通,以確保萬一我出了甚麼事的話,他們也能瞭解情況。

員工是下一個考慮因素。公司的價值在於員工。如果他們認為,既然 David 走了,或者 David 要離開六個月,而我必須為這個新來的傢伙打工,我何不另謀高就,那該怎麼辦?於是,我們開始加強與員工的交流,希望他們瞭解我們正在進行的流程。我們透過每週例會來解決這些問題,為公司的每個流程制定操作流程圖,確定由誰來做、向誰報告,以及誰來管理他們。

我發現,繼承規劃中最重要的一點就是要對員工坦誠。這意味著要和員工開誠布公地交流,就像我和我的得力助手交流那樣。他需要瞭解我的想法,而我則需要問他:「您想這樣做嗎?您有甚麼顧慮?」如果他拒絕,我就得採取措施來保護他和公司。如果我們賣掉公司,該如何保護他不受未來買家的影響?

透過採取這些措施,您就能保護家人和企業。我們沒有理由不這樣做。您以為自己的時間真有預想中多嗎?我當然也是這麼想的,而我很慶幸自己到現在還能工作,還能向大家分享我的故事。

David Blake 來自美國 New York(紐約)Harrison(哈里森),百萬圓桌會齡 23 年。聯絡方式:dblake@insmedinsurance.com

如需有關業務連續性的資源,敬請瀏覽 mdrt.org/decisiontree

Log in to access resources reserved for MDRT members.
  • Learn
  • >
  • My personal journey toward legacy planning
My personal journey toward legacy planning
My personal journey toward legacy planning

Sep 01 2023 / Round the Table Magazine

My personal journey toward legacy planning

A dire diagnosis prompts advisor to plan for continuity and protect his family.

Topics Covered

I thought I would have plenty of time to think about the continuity of my practice, but when I faced a sudden and potentially life-limiting health crisis, I realized how ill-prepared I was to protect my family and avoid confusion and disruption in my practice.

My medical emergency began after I went to a local urgent care center to find the cause of the pain I had been feeling in my stomach for a few days. To my dismay, the doctor said I should immediately go to the emergency room for a CT scan. Several hours later, a doctor explained that the cause of my pain likely was due to a thickening in the wall of my small intestine, and, to my initial relief, it probably was just a virus. I thought I received a relatively clean bill of health, but then the doctor continued and shared very disturbing news. In addition to the virus, the doctors saw a mass of tissue in my stomach. “We think it is a GIST — also known as a gastrointestinal stromal tumor,” the doctor explained. “I’m going to have the surgical team come over and probably admit you, and we’ll talk about what comes next.”

As I laid on a gurney, waiting to learn more, I picked up my phone and Googled this condition. What I learned wasn’t comforting. Only 1 out of 120,000 people a year in the U.S. is afflicted with GIST tumors, and doctors don’t know the cause. They do know that these tumors start small and local but grow, spread and eventually can become malignant. This type of tumor doesn’t respond to chemotherapy or radiation, so surgery is the only recourse, if it hasn’t spread. It’s not something you ever want to face.

As I considered which path would create the greatest value for my family in the event of my demise, I realized I needed to examine what makes my practice valuable and who would be the best candidate.

The will is not enough

I started thinking about what I had done to protect my family. Yes, my wife, Stacia, and I had updated our wills about a year before the pandemic and put many safeguards in place, but I realized that I had never seriously considered a succession or continuity plan for my business. What would happen if I died from a surgical complication, if the recovery process proved to be more complicated than expected or if the doctors found that the tumor had spread?

In our family, the governance of my business is run by the power of attorney provisions in my will. That means Stacia would inherit and run the company, but we had never really talked about whether she would want to. Would she even be able to?

I quickly realized this wasn’t a viable option, and I looked to build a governance model based on the concepts found in a book called “Traction.” The book discusses how a successful business requires two individuals — a “visionary” who has the vision and ability to run a company, and an “integrator” who works in cohesion with the visionary to oversee all the operational aspects of the practice. 

Ultimately, I determined that my family would need someone to serve as their advocate in case any of these three unwanted outcomes occurred. I thought about the qualities an advocate should have. Should they know my product portfolio? Should they have stronger operational skills that complement my visionary skills? Most importantly, would the advocate be acceptable to my wife? I identified three individuals in the industry, determined which one I thought would best act as an advocate for my family, contacted him, and he agreed to assume this role if needed. 

Preparing for the worst

I realized that if surgery didn’t go well, I needed to determine who my estate should sell the company to and whether the best option was to sell to an internal team member or to an external organization. At that time, I had 11 people working for me with a core leadership team of three, my right hand, who has been with me for 27 years, and two other individuals who have each been with me for more than two decades. We all complement each other, and I wondered if I would be dishonoring my senior team by not giving them the opportunity to purchase and manage my company.

As I considered which path would create the greatest value for my family in the event of my demise, I realized I needed to examine what makes my practice valuable and who would be the best candidate. During my career, I had the good fortune of selling thousands of individual policies that generate a constant stream of passive income, like AUM. Selling the company to my team would provide continuity of service from day one. However, I also realized that my entire career had been built around offering one product to health care institutions across the country. Would it be best to have my company purchased by one of my competitors who already has the business experience, staff and systems to absorb my firm? Finally, I considered the value of our relationships with countless individuals and organizations. Would a company that offers a wider range of products and services see value in my block of individual policies, or would a firm specializing in group and executive benefits find my institutional relationships appealing?

All important questions to answer, and I started by looking at an internal sale. I asked myself why my right hand and I work so well together. The answer is because we complement each other — I’m the vision, and he is the stability. Then I asked myself the question that anyone looking for a new principal should ask: Do you want someone with a vision to drive the business forward, or are you just looking for someone to maintain the company? The answer will differ depending on the desired outcome — continue the business or sell and dissolve it. But I wondered how the staff would receive my right hand if he became the company leader. I recalled an exercise my company had gone through recently when we were asked by our HR consultant “What’s the one word that describes you in this company?” The word that immediately came to my mind was “drive.” My right hand’s word was “calm.” Having a manager who makes sure our promises are being fulfilled and business processes run smoothly is invaluable. But would this successor be able to take care of the staff who’s been with me for years? I also had to ask the tough questions like whether he was ready to oversee it all? If not, who could join the firm and how would that impact the stability and value of the firm? Also, could my right hand drive the business forward, and did he have the financial means to buy my company?

As I tried to work through these questions in the limited time before my operations, I concluded that the only viable move for me and my family if I didn’t survive was to sell the company to an external organization in such a way that my team would be protected and that they would have some economic interest from the sale. We had to look outside the company for a solution. But who knows my marketplace, and who can do this?

Preparing for possible sale

Concurrently, I built a second team that I refer to as my dissolution team, which would spring into action to find someone to buy my company if it needed to be sold. I picked two people for these consulting roles, one who knows my market and my competitors and one who is a tough negotiator. If necessary, they would be the ones bringing an offer to my advocate who would then bring it to my wife. 

The first thing I did was figure out the value of my company. For this, I contracted two companies to get competing bids. The second thing we looked at was our communication to key clients and centers of influence to make sure that if something happens to me, they know what’s going on.

Staff is the next consideration. The value of a company is the staff. What if they think, David’s gone or David’s out for six months, and I’ve got to work for this new guy, so I may be looking for another job? So, we started talking to our staff more and wanted them to understand the steps we are taking. We addressed these issues through a weekly meeting to develop an operational flowchart for every single process in the company, who does it, who they report to and who is going to manage them.

I found that the most important thing in succession planning is to be honest with staff. That means having candid conversations like I did with my right hand. He needed to understand what I’m thinking, and I needed to ask him, “Do you want to do it? What are your concerns?” If he said no, then I want to take steps to protect him and the company. If we sold the company, how could I protect him from a future purchaser?

By taking these steps, you protect your family and your business. There’s no reason that any of us shouldn’t do this. Do you really have as much time as you think you have? I certainly thought so, but I’m glad that I am still here working and able to share this message.

Find resources about business continuity at mdrt.org/decisiontree.