Log in to access resources reserved for MDRT members.
成长的种子
成长的种子

9月 01 2023 / Round the Table Magazine

成长的种子

新任百万圆桌基金会会长 Lord 为组织注入投资和扩张精神。

涵盖主题

“如果在鸡尾酒会上,有人问我职业生涯中最重要的是什么,”Andrew C. Lord,CLU、ChFC 说,“我会这样告诉对方。”

对于这位百万圆桌基金会的新任会长来说,这听起来像是在讨论他效力该组织时夸张的溢美之词。不过,我们也不难理解这位来自美国 New Hampshire(新罕布什尔州)Portsmouth(朴茨茅斯)、百万圆桌会龄 35 年的会员,为何会对百万圆桌如此赞不绝口。百万圆桌基金会推动了职业和个人方面的多项突破。

他在美国 New Hampshire(新罕布什尔州)Wolfeboro(沃尔夫伯勒)(人口仅 3,000)长大,在基金会的激励下,他开始亲身实践志愿服务精神。他的父母在家乡(父亲是七年级英语教师,母亲是学校护士)创办了一个社区临终关怀机构,并为一个青年团体和一个帕金森病患者组织提供支持。“他们对自己所做的事情抱有坚定的信念,并致力于让我所在的小镇变得更美好。”他说。

Lord 的身体力行也激发了其儿子 Hunter Charles Thomas Lord,CFP 对加入金融服务行业的兴趣。现在,他的儿子已是会龄 3 年的百万圆桌会员,2009 年百万圆桌年会召开前几周,年仅 15 岁的他陪同父亲前往美国 Indiana(印第安纳州)Indianapolis(印第安纳波利斯)。在那届年会期间,这对父子志愿参加了基金会的一个项目,为一个残疾儿童营地修建操场,以及粉刷和修补围栏。“我和妻子 Nancy 一直致力于让孩子们参与体验,能够亲力亲为去做志愿者,是个想都不用想的决定。”Lord 说。

最后,在基金会的经历让他了解到其他百万圆桌会员的慈善精神。有些会员每周要花多达 25 个小时来做志愿者和帮助他人。而加入资助委员会的经历,则让 Lord 认识到,百万圆桌内部有很多人都在为世界各地的公益事业出力。“这是我一生中抱着最谦卑的心态去体验的经历之一。”他说,“我对百万圆桌会员的善心和付出充满敬意。”

强势开局

如果您认为 Lord 的志愿服务之路是刻意为之,那就大错特错了。在大学毕业的第二天,他就进入了金融服务行业。当时,加入专业协会是理所当然的事。于是 Lord 加入了百万圆桌,并在 1988 年首次参加百万圆桌年会时,立即对基金会留下了深刻印象。

“我最喜欢的年会环节一直都是基金会的焦点。”Lord 说,“我单纯就是喜欢这个理念:一群人聚集一堂,大家齐心协力为伟大的共同公益事业尽一份绵薄之力。”

Lord 起初先在基金会展位捐了小额的善款。后来,在 Phonathon 期间,他开始增加捐款的金额和频率。尽管 Lord 在百万圆桌学到的知识让他的工作效率提高了十倍,但他现在认识到,自己太过沉溺工作,反而影响了人际关系。百万圆桌的全人理念和百万圆桌基金会的优先事项帮助他找到了平衡。“百万圆桌带领我获得的个人成长和发展,对我来说是无价之宝。”他说,“我很感激百万圆桌教会了我如何把握人生。”

种瓜得瓜,种豆得豆

百万圆桌基金会正好为他提供了回报渠道,帮助他更多地回馈社会。Lord 获得了百万圆桌基金会为 Seeds of Peace 提供的资助,他和家人支持该组织让以色列和巴勒斯坦的人们参加在 New England(新英格兰)举办的夏令营。在夏令营期间,这些来自不同地区的营友参与了各种活动和对话,以增进彼此的了解,有效地“播下”他们可以带回所在地区的“种子”。

这笔资助让 Seeds of Peace 成为了 2004 年百万圆桌年会的慈善合作伙伴。

“我在捐款时种下了一颗小小的种子。”Lord 说,“一开始有人建议我去申请赠款。小小的种子不断生根发芽,最终给他们带来了实质性的改变。”

Lord 在基金会的志愿服务始于 2013 年,当时他在资助委员会任职,在此期间,他不仅对基金会的价值观有了更深刻的了解,也对百万圆桌提供支持的原因和审核过程有了更深的认识。在 2018 年加入百万圆桌基金会董事会之前,他还曾在财务委员会和企业捐赠委员会任职。

他说,参与度的提高源于晨间展示,他会在展示期间争取提升志愿服务在他生活所占的比重。因此,如果有人让我投入更多时间,我不用过多思考就会答应。

作为会长,他的目标是继续负责百万圆桌基金会的各项工作,带领组织走向全球(2022 年向 35 个国家/地区提供了资助),并希望打造更多元化的全球化团队,重点关注主要会员市场,包括亚洲各地的市场。Lord 说,要实现上述目标,组织要不断运用科技的力量,比如最近百万圆桌基金会取消了 Phonathon 活动,转而开展更多社交媒体主导的活动,如“百万圆桌捐赠日”,以及将资助申请表翻译成各种语言等诸多措施。

“无论是二维码、社交媒体还是其他方式,我们都要与时俱进。”Lord 说,“我们将利用组织的社群网络,继续深入基础工作,不断宣扬组织理念。”

Lord 还希望运用自己的组织能力,帮助基金会各委员会之间顺利进行每年的交接工作。“如果人们最终觉得自己完成了任务,他们的志愿者服务体验就会更好。”他说,“我们希望让这些人参与进来,并继续活跃在这一领域。”

因此,Lord 可以肯定的是,即便他的会长任期结束,他也不会停止参与。

“基金会最棒的一点是,我们乐于接受大大小小的承诺,我期待着在任期结束后继续积极投身其中。”他说,“我会根据他们的需求开展工作,从活动结束后的收尾工作,到打电话联系相关人士等,我全都愿意帮忙。我完全停不下来,这实在太奇妙了。”

联系方式

Andrew Lord andy@essential-planning.com

Log in to access resources reserved for MDRT members.
  • Learn
  • >
  • Seeds of growth
Seeds of growth
Seeds of growth

Sep 01 2023 / Round the Table Magazine

Seeds of growth

Lord brings spirit of investment and expansion to role of MDRT Foundation President.

Topics Covered

“If I was at a cocktail party and someone asked me what the most important part of my career was,” said Andrew C. Lord, CLU, ChFC, “I would say it’s this.”

That might sound like hyperbole for the new President of the MDRT Foundation within a discussion about his involvement with the organization. But it’s easy to understand why the 35-year MDRT member from Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA, would be so effusive. The MDRT Foundation was a catalyst for several breakthroughs professionally and personally.

The Foundation motivated him to become personally involved in the spirit of volunteerism, which he first observed growing up in Wolfeboro, New Hampshire, USA, population 3,000. There, his parents (dad a seventh grade English teacher, mom a school nurse) founded the community hospice and supported both a youth group and a group for people with Parkinson’s disease. “They had a deeply held belief in what they were doing and a deep commitment to making my small town better,” he said.

His participation also sparked the interest in Lord’s son, Hunter Charles Thomas Lord, CFP, to join the financial services profession. Now a three-year MDRT member, when he was just 15 years old, he accompanied his dad to Indianapolis, Indiana, USA, a few weeks before the 2009 MDRT Annual Meeting. There the father and son volunteered on a Foundation project to build a playground and paint and mend fences at a camp for children with disabilities. “My wife, Nancy, and I always tried to get my kids involved with experiences, and being able to roll up their sleeves and volunteer was an easy decision,” Lord said.

Finally, his Foundation involvement exposed him to the remarkable generosity of other MDRT members, some who dedicate as many as 25 hours a week to volunteering and helping others. Serving on the grants committee showed Lord that many people within MDRT are driven to support causes around the world. “It’s one of the most humbling experiences I’ve had in my entire life,” he said. “I’m in awe of our members’ charitable urges and giving.”

Strong start 

If you think Lord’s path to volunteerism was deliberate, you’d be wrong. He entered the financial services profession the day after college ended at the time when belonging to a professional association was expected. Lord joined MDRT and immediately was impressed with the Foundation during his first MDRT Annual Meeting in 1988.

“My favorite parts of the Annual Meeting have always been the Foundation spots,” Lord said. “I just loved the idea of a group of people getting together, collecting their energy and throwing a couple bucks into a hat for great common causes.”

Lord started with a modest contribution at the MDRT Foundation booth. Later during the phonathon, he began increasing the amount and frequency of his contributions. Even though the education Lord received from the MDRT community helped increase his productivity tenfold, he now recognizes that he was working way too much at the expense of his personal relationships. The MDRT Whole Person concept and the priorities of the MDRT Foundation helped him find balance. “The personal growth and development gained from MDRT were priceless to me,” he said. “I credit those with saving my life.” 

Reaping what you sow 

Fittingly, the MDRT Foundation has provided a way to give back even more than he got. Lord received an MDRT Foundation grant for Seeds of Peace, an organization he and his family supported that brings people from Israel and Palestine to a summer camp in New England. There these campers from different communities engage in activities and conversations that foster understanding, effectively “planting seeds” that they can bring back to their communities. 

The grant led to Seeds of Peace becoming the charity partner for the 2004 MDRT Annual Meeting.

“I kind of planted a little seed with my giving,” Lord said. “It started with someone saying I should ask for a grant. Things snowballed and really made a difference for them.”

Lord’s Foundation volunteerism began in 2013, serving on the Grants Committee where he gained an increased appreciation for not just the Foundation’s values but the vetting process for organizations and the causes they support. He also served on the Finance and Corporate Giving committees before joining the MDRT Foundation Board in 2018.

The increased involvement, he says, stemmed from morning visualizations in which he asked for volunteerism to become a bigger piece of his life. So, it was an easy yes when asked to devote more time.

As President, he aims to continue the MDRT Foundation’s work to globalize the organization (grants were given in 35 countries in 2022) and match the diverse worldwide membership of MDRT, with particular focus on major membership markets, including many throughout Asia. This can happen, Lord says, by continuing to leverage technology — such as the recent retirement of the MDRT Foundation Phonathon in favor of more social media-driven initiatives like MDRT Gives Day — and logical advancements like translating grant applications into all appropriate languages.

“It’s keeping up with the times, whether it’s QR codes, social media or otherwise,” Lord said. “We’re using our amazing network to continue to reach down on a grassroots level to spread the word.”

Lord also wants to apply his organizational skills to help refine the successful handoffs among Foundation committees from year to year. “A better volunteer experience can exist where people feel at the end that they’ve completed the task,” he said. “We want to keep those people engaged and have them continue to stay active.”

Accordingly, Lord is sure to indicate that the end of his presidential year won’t bring an end to his involvement.

“One of the great things about the Foundation is we’re happy to have any level of commitment, and I’m looking forward to being active well beyond my term,” he said. “Whatever they need me to do, from cleaning up after an event to making phone calls to connections. It’s great because you don’t have to stop.”